Barbara Hitchings

By Spannygranny

Sad day

Had to go to a funeral this morning, a good friend at the golf club his wife died on saturday age 66. She was diagnosed with cancer 4 weeks ago and was given 6 weeks to live. Maureen lived life to the full, smoked like a trouper and drank G&T like a fish. She didn't play golf but always supported the golf club do's. As a mark of respect we cancelled our golf today and we all went to the funeral. The crem was packed, the Priest was Spanish but conducted the whole service in english. It was a bit unnerving as they do not close the coffin until just before the ceremony begins so that you can pay your last respects to the deceased, I didn't, I wanted to remember Mo as she was. Also there is no music, Mo was Catholic so she had a reqium service, which was very strange in a crem. The flowers in the picture are not from the funeral, I happened to have bought them on the market on Sunday, and they have just started to open up, I played about with focus and ended up with what you see.

Had a frustrating day yesterday, meeting with my German VP and my administrator. One of our residents defied!! the AGM and went ahead and had his garden wall raised to 2 metres, which is not allowed. The community decided as he wouldn't lower the wall he would be taken to court, this has been ongoing since 2005. Anyway after long discussion with him and his lawyer we came to a compromise, I personally would have given the go ahead for him to do the alterations, but oh no, mr pedantic VP has insisted that we wait until the AGM in October and let the community decide whether the alterations are acceptable. I could have insisted that we let Roccus go ahead, but as things stand between the English and the Germans I was advised by my administrator, whose opinions I trust, that it would be wiser to defer the decision until October, particularly as there is one German who is hell bent on causing me trouble, he is the one at last years AGM who did the finger poking in my chest.

Off to the gym to take out my frustrations on the treadmill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.