Igor

By Igor

a sophisticated man

Walking up Guildford High Street yesterday I caught sight of a shop - still in the same place - which has a direct link to this image.

A long time ago, when I was young and impressionable, I met a boyfriend of a female friend of mine.  He was older than the rest of us and was what another friend (female) described as “sophisticated”.

This was the late 1960s and many of us, able to walk into a job having just left school, had money to spend and clothes and records to buy.  And sometimes, other things as well.

This friend of a friend, had his own flat.  The walls were lined with bookshelves and artworks, rather than the posters which most of us stuck on our bedroom walls. 

Pride of place, over the mantelpiece was this painting, ornately framed in gold and illuminated by a lamp attached to the top of the frame.  

Books + painting + special lamp = sophistication.  How could any of us compete?

I was much taken with this picture - The Man in the Golden Helmet.  At the time it was attributed to Rembrandt and thus began my interest in the artist.  I was beginning to become sophisticated.

I later discovered the great man did not paint it - probably done by one of his mates or pupils - collectively known as the Rembrandt School.  No matter who did it; the lighting of their portraits had a lot to teach a budding photographer.

So where to acquire artworks such as this?  They must cost a fortune.  Apparently not.

In the olden days Boots the Chemist in Guildford High Street sold such treasures and I was amazed to see this painting in the same frame (without lamp) on sale for £4.19s 6d.  Next to it was another classic of that era that some of you may remember - The Green Lady.  I passed on that particularly treasure.

So 21 years old and my very own original oil painting.  Cool or what?

I know, I know - it’s not an oil painting.  Original?  I’ve added a few shafts of light to make it my own.  It’s been in the loft for ages and now it’s in my study while I consider what to do with it.  Apart from blipping it. 

I did wonder about taking it to Sotheby’s and let someone set fire to it.  After they’d bought it of course. Someone might think it the height of sophistication to burn money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.