Fatboy Slow

I met Alison at The Big Beach Cafe at 8.45am to join Norman Cook aka Fatboy Slim, on his 26 mile walk to visit each of the 50 snails on the snail trail to raise money for the Martlets Hospice.  For those of you that don't know Fatboy Slim, he's a famous DJ/musician/record producer but because he was walking at Snails Pace his name was changed to Fatboy Slow.

Alison and I didn't plan to do the full 'marathon', and said we'd just see how we got on. As the theme is Snails Pace, we thought it would be a stroll, but we were wrong, Norm was on a mission and set off at a fair pace!  I guess he had to though as he had quite a distance to cover and planned to do it in 10 hours. 

When we arrived at the cafe which is owned by Norm, the Heart Sussex DJ Jack the Lad was there to do a live interview, and walked with us for the first couple of snails, doing interviews from time to time, and then later on we were joined by The Latest TV who filmed him.  Alison and I were given a bucket to try and collect donations, and we had leaflets to hand out to explain to people what he was doing.  At every snail he had a selfie and was quite happy to have photos taken with his fans as long as they made a donation.  He really is a lovely guy and is the Ambassador of Martlets who provide free hospice care for terminally ill people.

Alison and I walked 6 miles and 19 snails at which point we all stopped for a drink at a cafe on the seafront.  We were offered food as well, but we just had a hot chocolate and then said we'd leave them as we had a 3 mile walk back to our cars which were parked near Hove Lagoon.  Norm gave us both a hug and thanked us for our support and we were invited to go to the Hospice tonight where they would be finishing, but we were both too tired!  We've walked about 20,000 steps and almost 10 miles in total.

We strolled back along the seafront and saw the Bubble Man again, so I showed him the photos I'd taken the other day and asked him is name, he's called Alan so I can hardly forget that.  Then a bit further along Hove seafront we saw Felix, aka PewDiePie who walked right in front of us with his two dogs and sat on a bench with his book.  I couldn't help but go over and say hello, I explained that Alan 'follows' him and his fiancee Marzia,  and said that they make us laugh.  He was really nice and when I said that I hoped he didn't mind my accosting him, he said not at all and thanked me for stopping to say hello.  What a nice guy!

On my way home I stopped off at Morrison's where I'd found they had The Bees Knees, the alcohol free wine that we drank last night, and I got two bottles of rose and two white.  Alan and I have sat in the Palace tonight and shared a bottle of rose, which was actually very nice.    

I'm tired and my legs and feet are aching, but it's a good feeling - it's been a fun day and all for a good cause.  Their target was to raise £5,000 from today's marathon and they'd already achieved that by the time we left them at lunch time.  I heard them say that David Walliams had donated £250 which is nice of him - he's another Brighton celebrity that lives on Millionaires Row near Norm!

As for my blip, I took this shot as he was being interviewed, and I've added a couple of extras of us with Norm. 

Anyway, it's the weekend, hope you have a good one, and I promise to catch up with you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.