Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lunch

A delivery of wood was to arrive 'today'. I hung around waiting for it, but of course, as soon as I popped to the gym, I could see the van arriving. No worries - JR was in charge. And in fact, I missed out on loading ten bags of (smokeless) coal into the coal bunker.

I did a bit more than usual in the gym too, as I finished off with a walk round the CBD in Auckland. I was fair puggled.

Archie had departed joyfully with Elizabeth by the time I got back. JR skipped the gym, and was ready for off. We'd decided to pop across town to Newhaven Harbour to visit the new fish restaurant. Fifty minutes in the bus (each way) was quite an ordeal (could have been in Glasgow in that time!) but it was worth it.

We could almost sit outside. It was sunny and warm enough in a coat. JR did not have a coat, she had a jacket, so we couldn’t sit outside. Besides, we wanted to see inside. And it was great. The main thing (in my book) is that the background music is just that - background. And it was. A good sound system, not too loud. Very good food too - 'Proper fish and chips' , and they were indeed.

I had intended taking photos in and around the harbour, but I should have done so before lunch - by the time we came out, the sky had darkened ominously, the light had gone, and it was pointless trying. But I did take one. Besides, JR was too cold in her wee jacket so didn’t hang around, but went straight to the bus stop.

On the bus home there was a young woman with her face apparently slashed right from ear to ear, very convincingly. Obviously going to a 'do' later on. It looked absolutely awful. I think this whole ghoulish Hallowe'en lark has just gone too far.

Off to binge on 'Press'. Enjoying it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.