NellieD

By NellieD

So many opportunities ... but no parking

I went to see a friend today. She lives an hour away  but it was such a lovely drive other the tops through beautiful countryside. I could have stopped so many times for a blip ... the statue of the man reading a paper on a bench ... a pair of silverback gorillas ... the viaduct ... the soldier silhouette at the side of the road ... a wooded copse ... the beautiful fishing lake with hundreds of plastic bottles strung across the water?!

Every time I saw something, there was nowhere to stop - but I have added them to my mental list of places to go back to! As I headed towards Chapel-en-le-Frith (I love that name!), it was like I was chasing the most amazing sky with the clouds, light and sun. I managed to pull in by a butty van to take a quick snap.

I met my friend about 18 years ago when she took an academic placement in the company I worked at. We only tend to meet up a couple of times a year, but always pick up where we left off. She's just had a second baby who is now 6 weeks old - and very beautiful. Her eldest daughter is 18 months old and I've only met her the once, just after she was born. She was a bit shy at first but then sat on my knee and fell asleep in my arms for a couple of hours. Apparently she only does that with her grandma so I was honoured!

Quote for today:
It takes a long time to grow an old friend.
- John Leonard

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.