Post storm feeding

There was a storm from the west over night. Strong winds, and persistent rather than really heavy rain. There was enough to noise to wake me a couple of times, but not so much as to keep me awake. The morning was still far from calm, and at first the bay below the cliffs was invisible due to the clouds and rain. As the sun rose behind the clouds, it "burned them away" (as I've heard it said), and just after 0900 I took the Pentax with the long zoom and went down to South End.

Kuaka were already there in moderate numbers, mostly further north along the beach in the continuing shallows. Half a dozen were a bit separate, and I tried to get close, but they abruptly moved; seemingly for better feeding. They were much more actively seeking food, and I even saw one challenge another for the hunting "rights". 

Rather than disturb them further, I went to the point, and around to Our Beach, where there were a number of kotare, which as usual were reluctant to let me approach. One darted across to a nearby, recently exposed tidal pool, and appeared to catch something (I was too distant to see what). A few more careful paces and away it went.

Back I walked to the South End, where I saw the two Tuturiwhatu, which I have put up as extras. The first one is showing the rufous chest colouration seen on males at this time of the year. The more subdued grey brown one is probably the female of a mating pair. Tuturiwhatu are lovely little birds, and it is possible, moving slowly, to get within 10 metres of them; which I did in taking the photo of the male.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.