jiana

By jiana

a Japanese traditional card game

This card game is called Hyakunin-isshu literally means one hundres poems written by 100 poets. This collection of poems were compilated by an aristocracy about 900 years ago, and we Japanese people have enjoyed this game over time.

When I was a high school student, we must study each poems and some students become enthusiastic to win the game.

The game is very simple. This card game consists of two kind cards, 100 picture cards and 100 letter cards. On the picture cards, the poet name, image and all relics are written, and on the letter cards, only the latter half of poem is written.

When we start the games, two players line up the letter cards at first. Next, the reader reads aloud the poem watching the picture card. The player on hearing the first word of the reader, takes the letter card competing ahead. 

The game is exciting, but the content of each poem is also interesting. For example, this poem is written by one lady famous for beauty. She wrote, " Oh cherry blossoms, their color faded because of a long spell of rain.  Like this, I have lost my good looks completely."

When I was an innocent school girl, I could not share her feeling, but now I understand her sorrow and miss my youth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.