A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

ta Dad!

Before we start - Aunty Val ....5ft 1in - you are having a laugh aren't you??? I have been 5'4 since I was 18....granted I was a midget till I was 16, but thats what you get for heavy duty gymnastics over a number of years. Humph!!!!

The picture ...see the bottom of the entry!

Work today - it was good to be back. Until this afternoon when I dealt with an situation caused by a group of kids, which was insensitive and disappointing, made all the more so by some of the students having taken a certain degree of liberty with me - effectively throwing back a lot of support and effort on my part, by abusing the ICT resources in order to cause hurt to another student. They have been dealt with, but I can't help but feel deeply let down by them - I think they know this, but they will pay with their time after half term...hopefully their shame (which they clearly did feel) will serve as a useful mechanism to motivate them to get ready for the final exam. But it was a disappointing end to the half term.

Collected james from school then went to Dad's house. Dad very kindly gave me some cash for my birthday, which was originally intended for use in contributing to a new lens or suchlike. However, I have put it towards a 500GB external hard drive to use for back up, as my existing external HD is starting to fill up rather rapidly with photos. So Ta Dad - and to Ann too for the flowers. The less said about by (step) sister's comment about wrinkly old farts the better...but I will remember! (Only kidding Laura if you read this...you know I love you!)

Had a nice hour there, with James educating Dad in the ways of YouTube - by showing him the Eddie Izzard/Lego Death Star Canteen sketch....I'm betting Dad's watched it a few times since. James' cautionary advice to dad was along the lines of "I must warn you Grandad that there is some strong language in this" (from the boy who says "I know its a swear Mummy and I promise not to use it" and also the boy who shouts at me when I occasionally let 'a swear' slip out in James' presence). I think when we arrived, Dad was actually just catching up on my blips for the week and was admiring the dodgy hotel photos I posted yesterday - caused some mirth and merriment.

Home for a curry - Chicken Bhuna - needed something hot! The earache has extended now so that I have had quite excrutiating pain in my cheeks and jaw all day. Sore throat has gone, but the husky voice remains (which is cool!). Neck ache as well. Have been out and bought drugs (legal ones...nurofen and some strong cold/fly decongestant capsules).

Shopping, tidied up my office, downloaded some software so that I can set up a photobook (portfolio...thats my project for the week, in between marking coursework and entertaining James).

Am shortly going to change my hair colour - not decided on purple or red yet...but its half term so I am going to be reckless!

Then bath, face mask and sleep ready for birthday tomorrow!

The picture is of the jar of homemade whiskey marmalade that Dad gave to us tonight. Dad is a great cook - he makes fab roast dinners, curries, Christmas puddings and to be honest, anything he cooks is yummy. But anything he makes to give to other people tends to get 'packaged' in "Granny Hebdon" packaging. Granny Hebdon's picture is my Dad, in a headscarf, clutching a handbag to his bosom. The worrying thing is that he actually makes a pretty good grandma...if you can get past the beard!!! And the marmalade is gorgeous.

Following in 42's tradition, my Link of the Day today is Manual Transition's 300th blipday...its great :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.