Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Lichen Love

LARGER LICHEN.

This afternoon I was back at a school I'd visited last week. I'd taken part 2 of my lunch break on arrival and went for a walk, spotting a brick and flint garden wall smothered in a couple of types of lichen and mosses. At the time I took some shots of them, and was really tempted to blip them rather than the shot I did use of Coltishall Green, where I'd stopped off en route between schools. Knowing that this week I'd be at a different school in the morning and not passing through Coltishall again, I opted for the Coltishall blip - I already knew I'd be returning to this school again this week and could revisit the lichen, so today I did. I love the tiny complexity of lichen, some are almost as lovely and intricate as flowers. I thought the contrast between the yellows and orange of this lichen and the greens and greys of the mosses looked lovely.

In some places the lichen formed beautiful patterns too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.