NellieD

By NellieD

In one door and out another

I swapped my volunteering days today as my best friend's dad recently died and it was his funeral. He battled ill health for a long time but every day for 17 days they were told he might not make it through the night. 

I was sat in the pew in church when a lady tapped me on the shoulder. She recognised me as I went to primary school with her daughter - over 40 years ago! When we were eating after the service, another lady kept looking at me and asked my friend who I was as she recognised me. Turns out she was good friends with my parents and remembered me from when I was a little girl. It seems I haven't changed at all!

Even though I have a thing for old doors, I realise that I haven't actually blipped any yet. The doors to the church were so old and I thought the handles could certainly tell a story. How many people have opened those doors to celebrate the birth of their child whilst others have had to close them after burying a loved one. 

Managed to do my good deed for the day by driving an elderly couple to the crematorium after the service and then back to the wake. I nipped out to take them back to the tram stop when they were ready to go as it was a long walk up a dirt path from the cricket club and was a cold afternoon. Funerals certainly make you realise the importance of being there for each other, whether you know the person or not.

Quote for today:
There'll be two dates on your tombstone
and all your friends will read 'em
but all that's gonna matter
is that little dash between 'em.
- Kevin Welch

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.