stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

There and back again...

Following my aborted attempt at a night shoot of the Forth Rail Bridge last night due to the weather, I was surprised with the bright start to the morning and decided to head back to South Queensferry to tick off another item on my blip bucket list, to walk across the Forth Road Bridge. A little over 5 hours and under 7 miles later, I was back in the car.

It was a lovely sunny day today, but cold. Fortunately it wasn't too windy so the walk across was quite pleasant. It was the first time I'd been across and I wasn't sure how I'd get on. In spite of my fear of heights it wasn't too bad though and I even managed to take a few shots over the side. In fact, the only times I felt a little unsteady was when I looked up too quickly and...

I headed into North Queensferry to see if I could get some shots of the bridge from below. I didn't expect to be able to get right under the bridge, but a gap in the security fence saw me take a few illicit steps inside. Undeterred by the CCTV warning signs, my blip senses went into overdrive as I spied the arches and steel frame that is the underbelly of the suspension bridge.

As I crossed back over I watched as the foundations for the replacement bridge were being dredged out of the firth. It was fascinating to watch the two massive holes being formed in the water. The first I came across was already being excavated, while the second was still having the formwork prepared.

The replacement crossing is being built due to growing concerns over the structural stability of the existing bridge due to excessive use. As a result, monitoring and remedial work is ongoing. Housty and the boys were getting ready to go somewhere you couldn't pay me enough money to go! Watching the gang ride up to the cable gantry, I could feel my legs turn to jelly. Never in a million years!

Will try to catch up with everyone tomorrow. Have a great weekend.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.