Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Making Music

This morning I went with Mum and Dad to the CCA in Glasgow to a workshop run by the Glasgow Improvisation Orchestra (GIO). They played different instruments to us (a double bass, drums, flute, trombone, melodica and saxophone) and we all picked instruments and played them too. We played them loud, quiet, fast and slow. I also volunteered to conduct the orchestra. I stood in the middle of the room with a table tennis bat with a red side (stop) and green side (go). I used it to decide when everyone had to play and when they had to stop. If I held it up high, they played loudly, and if I held it down low they played quietly. I took my duties very seriously!

After the workshop we went for some lunch at Bradford's. I asked for a ham sandwich and Mum asked the waitress for no butter. But the waitress forgot and there was butter on my sandwich. Mum noticed, but didn't say anything to see what would happen. I ate it all up and said it was yummy! Mum and Dad pointed it out to me and Dad said, now you like butter. And I said, "yes, that's because I'm four." Bradford's has a fab cake display downstairs. As we were going to visit my friend Louisa, Mum let me choose treats for us. I picked reindeer biscuits. We spent the rest of the afternoon at Louisa's house and we had great fun playing together. We were even pretending that we had babies in our tummies, just like my mummy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.