Degradado

The group left camp and drove towards Chimoio, the provincial capital. The landscape in this buffer area of the Chimanimani National Reserve is quite degraded and affected by human activity, including this clearing for agriculture.

I woke up feeling rough, so travelled in the open air of the large safari vehicle that is needed to transport all the masters students from A to B. I was on the verge of vomiting and succumbed to the peer pressure of taking an anti-nausea tablet, which I have never touched before.

I'm in two minds about pills that stop bodily functions that are trying to eject toxins. It can't be a good thing to prevent the physical act of vomiting when the toxin causing the need to vomit remains in the system. The pill did lessen the immediate need to vomit but I felt pathetic all day and was largely confined to my bed in the hotel room, worrying about the early symptoms of malaria.

I'm not in two minds about Imodium. It's the devil's work. During the onset of diarrhoea you have two choices: pass some uncomfortable time acquainting yourself with the toilet seat, or plug yourself up for several days, caging unhealthy bacteria in the body. I'll go for the toilet dashes every time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.