Still Here!

By Yorkhull

More mug memories

For a while I had a girlfriend in Hong Kong. She worked in Links of London but camefrom Philippines. I had not had a chance to visit mainland `China. She told me how we could take a train to the border get a visa and then spend the day in border town Shenzhen. China had a very different feel to Hong Kong and the people were not as friendly.

We finished the day in a market. I was determined to get a mug as a moment of my visit in case I did not come again. We were looking round the markets but they were very insistent. You had to barter though I was not good at that. I spotted this mug and asked how much it was. To be honest it was a pittance. My friend though was much more careful with money which, when I visited the phillipines later I could see why. She bartered. I said I was happy to buy it but she said no, I could get it cheaper in Hong Kong. I tried to explain my reason for getting it here but she was adamant and pushed me out of the shop. The assistant rushed down and offered a price less than half the original. I was allowed to buy. I had my mug.

I did get to visit China again later on though not as much as I wanted as the visa rules hardened around the Beijing Olympics. Still I had my mug and so it’s my mug memory tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.