Harry Houdini

The little blighter did a runner today. He had his harness on and we were walking across a fenced field when a jogger came thundering up the hill crunching through piles of leaves. Murdo was far from happy and retreated. Next thing I know I have a harness at the end of a 5m lead that didn't contain a dog! His wee white arse was fast disappearing into the distance. I wasn't unduly concerned, the field was fenced and gated. It contained a few sheep but he had shown no interest in them.  So I wandered after him. On reaching the fence the little beggar barked at me from woods on the other side, (he was so wee he jumped through the mesh). Oh crap I thought and ran back to the gate, as I opened it Murdo came galloping out of the undergrowth and sat at my feet, his wee tail wagging. He thought it was great fun. Phew. Picked him up and went back to meet the jogger who had sensibly stopped when he saw he had scared the dug. He had picked up the lead and harness and showed me where the belly strap had been chewed through. He must have done that in the car on the way down. Little devil. Anyway he made friends with the jogger.  We completed his walk now attached to his collar.

I returned the sheep shit encrusted monster to Mrs FP and he was promptly turfed into the bath which he enjoyed endured. As he went from scruffy to fluffy I went down to the pet shop to get an industrial strength harness and a linkage that tethers the harness to the collar - so if either comes off again he'll still  be safe. I was impressed with his recall though, it was just the jogger scaring the bejesus out of him. 

Honestly, worse than having kids.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.