Christmas lights under the sun

The big switch on is this Saturday. Funchal's Christmas lights will officially blaze out from then. Locals have commented that there will be fewer than last year. Last year there were fewer than in 2010.

Madeira is part of Portugal and the economy is struggling. Maybe fewer lights is a necessary measure. They suffered a VAT increase from 16% to 22% last April and the island is very quiet. Restaurateurs and others worried that they did not dare pass on the increase in full.

But nothing dampens the Madeiran vitality. I've had a marvellous day today. Glorious sunshine as I revisited my favourite haunts and was welcomed back in fine style. My morning started well as I passed these workmen setting up against the backdrop of a beautiful blue sky and the Porto Santo ferry.

Lots more doors in the Old Town but I chose this shot as it seized the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.