Perfect squid

My favourite restaurant has reopened and we went there for the grilled squid at lunchtime

We sat on top of this unusual structure, under the red umbrellas, and could see the catamarans sparkling on the sea as they returned from whale watching.

We could look west towards Cabo Girao, the second highest sea cliff in the world, and towards Sir Winston Churchill's beloved Camara do Lobos ( a bit of a rough fishing village these days)

I'd gone into Funchal to try out the new cafe, the Ritz, when my friend texted me. She mentioned the Magic Tea Rooms and then on to the Doca do Cavacas. No contest. I caught the number 2 bus within five minutes, gave up the idea of shopping for now, and was there to share the warm sun and relax with a glass of crisp cooled white wine.

Everywhere is so quiet. It's worth considering coming out here to do your bit to help these lovely hard working people :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.