Doghouse

It was a very lovely day until I went up to put the hens to bed. Oscar managed to pull up the spiral stake his metal lead was attached to, and broke through the fence. Him, hens , me, barking, shouting, clucking, chasing after each other. I only managed to catch him when he caught Greta. I released her from his mouth and off she ran. I held onto him with all my might to prevent him racing after them again, and slowly managed to get him out of the plot. Blow me having secured the stake thoroughly, or so I thought, he did it again - but no hen caught this time, I managed to grab the metal lead and reel him back in to me, so only my finger caught in the catch on the fence which took me some time to release as he was straining to get back in. This time I wrapped his lead round the water butt. I looked for Greta to see that she was ok - she had been walking around after her near death experience, but I could not find her. It got darker and darker but even with my strong headtorch I could not find her. I wondered if I had left the fence open at one point or that she had got out through the part of the fence Oscar had beaten down. I just had to hope she had hidden herself somewhere on the plot. I left the electric fence on to ensure she would be safe if so. At least it was mild and not raining.
I virtually frogmarched Oscar home, he knew I was cross with him and didn't attempt to do his usual snuffling. Once home I sent him to his dog basket. I was going to take him to see The exile and the boys when I gave them their presents, but decided this would please him  and he didn't deserve a treat! 
What a way to end the day - went to bed wishing it was morning so I could go see if Greta was indeed safe and well on the plot!
Hope everyone had a calmer and happier day! 
Oh and this is my winter advent calendar, if you look in the centre you will see a dog, a hen, and underneath it a cat - prophetic eh?! He likes to chase both!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.