Big long walk Thursday

First thing this morning I didn't get a morning walk. Boohoo. Alfie, the Beardie, went out for a walk without me and I got told to go in the garden for toileting purposes. Well I didn't think that was very fair?! …..................But do you know why I didn't go for a 'first thing in the morning' walk?................. I didn't go for a 'first thing in the morning' walk because today I have been on a seven and a half mile walk. And Ann was worried that if I went on a 'first thing in the morning' walk I wouldn't have enough energy left for a big long walk.



I have had such a lovely time today. And I haven't been 'snail like' at all. I have been zooming around in super speedy mode and even when I've been on my lead I've been keeping up with Alfie.



We went to Cromford in the Peak District and the first part of the walk was walking up a big steep hill. I managed that no bother at all. Ann's sister, Sue, thinks Ann has lied about me being 'snail like' on my walks because I've been going on my walks with Alfie, (the Beardie) since Sunday and even though he's six years younger than me, I've had no problems keeping up with him. Anyway, once we reached the top of the hill we had to walk a few miles along an old railway line trail, then it was back down another hill to the Cromford Canal, where the humans stopped to eat their packed lunch. They had turkey and ham sandwiches and even though I gave them my most appealing look, no one gave me any tasty titbits. Boohoo.



After that we had to walk along the canal for about three miles and I managed to jump in and have one little splish, splash, splosh but unfortunately I got into trouble because the canal water was pretty yuky so I got a bit muddy. Alfie's a bit of a goody two shoes so when he was just about to jump in; Sue shouted, 'Aflie, NO'. So he didn't bother?! Stupid Beardie! What did he think his human would do to him once he'd jumped in?



Today has been fabulous. I haven't had such a long walk for months and Ann is really pleased that at fourteen and a half years old, I'm still able to enjoy big long walks. Yay! Perhaps she'll take me on a few more now.



However, I haven't had any sleep time today. But I've had my dinner, so now it's time for a big, long snooze. Yay!



PS – Ann could do with having dinner and a big long snooze too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.