One

I know, there should be three....

End of the year stuff. My favourite films today, favourite music tomorrow as tradition dictates.

I've been to the cinema more times this year than previously, thanks mainly to having a monthly pass for the local multiplex, a multiplex which has actually shown a lot of films that would previously have only been shown in the arthouse cinemas - think of it as your more mainstream leftfield choices. There's also been a bunch of stuff that I've caught up with on the likes of Amazon Prime and Sky Movies, as well as films that have been Netflix originals. Additionally, I went to a cast and crew screening of my pal Matt Palmer's film Calibre, which subsequently came out originally on Netflix and then had a really limited release in a handful of cinemas...the lines have definitely got more blurred this year in deciding what to choose from. But (and the way it's going, this may well be the last time I do this) I'll restrict my choices to films I saw in the cinema and that had what I'll call a general theatrical release ie they had a run in cinemas, not just one-off screenings or special events.

1. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
2. Faces Places
3. Blindspotting
4. I, Tonya
5. You Were Never Really Here
6. American Animals
7. BlacKkKlansman
8. Climax
9. Sorry To Bother You
10. The House That Jack Built

(Other stuff I really liked included Lady Bird, Beast, Tully, A Quiet Place, The Miseducation Of Cameron Post, Free Solo, Cold War, Mandy, Bad Times At The El Royale, Suspiria, Wildlife)

And of course there are a fair few films that I never saw that have appeared in a lot of end-of-year lists. I can only go on what I've seen...

Easy Come Easy Go

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.