Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Uhtceara (oot-kiara)

An old, forgotten word for being wide awake, in bed, pre-dawn, consumed by worries. Uht (before dawn) and ceare (care). As i'm old now, i have to try and pretend to be grown up, so i've started to down a couple of shots of radio 4. I struck random gold at 9.45am on Monday morning when i was off sick. 15 minutes of a melty mellow voice walking me through wonderful words of yesteryear, extracted from a new book, the Horologicon. I have Uhtceara most days; wish it was paid by the hour.

It was snow all the way today and it tripled my commute time. I secretly enjoyed crawling along the beautiful snowy countryside keeping my distance on iced up roads at 10mph, with the radio blasting some unusually decent music interspersed with people giving live updates competing with each other over how long they'd been in gridlock. Not so fun on the way home - willing my wee car up steep icy hills in blizzards made my teeth sore. The travel mug's maiden voyage was a success (I had to buy another as beardy face threatend to steal my one) and I ended the day by finally handing in my notice; in my new job i reckon i'll have a lot less Uhtceara going on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.