The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

In A Flash

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Off to the pantomime. Mary Doll, The Mini Princesses, Niece, Nephew and I went to see Beauty and the Beast at The Kings Theatre. The baddie was Flash Boaby, an ageing Lothario, (“All the girls love the Boaby”) which is pretty much my level of humour.

There was lots of “Oh yes it is. Oh no it isn’t”. When I was a child, I used to go to see the pantomime every year with my parents. I thought the costumes were spectacular and it was completely crazy that there was a man dressed as a woman. We saw Rikki Fulton, Stanley Baxter and Jack Milroy. I remember asking Mary Doll why she was laughing at a joke I didn’t understand and then starting to get those jokes a few years later. One year we sat in a box and I remember the fear and exhilaration of having the mickey taken out of us.

Panto is ridiculous and silly and hilarious and I love it.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.