Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

All I have to show...

.. Twice I went outside today. Not just small 'pops' either.
Twice I sat very still, for quite long times.
A phrase from a Christmas poem came to mind... '...Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse'.
Except that I stirred, just a little bit, in a downward direction.
I take a small red folding stool outside with me, if I'm going vole-spotting.
The ground beside the dry stone wall had been allowed to go wild, but Himself cleared it recently, and the ground is now very soft.
My stool gave itself up, slowly, into the soil taking me with it until we were both firmly planted.
After a bit of flailing however, I was soon free.

I wish I had something to show for it.

Then I came inside to warm up, and put away the few Christmas decorations we had used this year. It was nice not to have a tree to take down this time. (I missed it, but I didn't miss the end job).
Just the cards to tick off on the annual list now... I can't help but wonder (when a lovely relative suggested we all use recyclable brown paper next year to wrap our gifts, which I applaud by the way) whether Christmas as we know it, will soon be a thing of the past?

Cheerful today aren't I? :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.