Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

What if...

I got out the address book and the Christmas card list, and made a start this morning while awaiting the arrival of Leo and his mum for swimming. Well, for coffee first before swimming.

The doorbell went. I hunkered down so that my face was toddler level, and opened the door. Just as well I didn't add a 'Boo!'

It was the postman! LOL! I tried to explain that I thought he was somebody else. Somebody smaller. Or I could have feigned a back injury.

Anyway, he didn't bat an eyelid. I'm sure he's seen worse.

What had arrived, amazingly enough, were some laser light wand things I'd ordered online YESTERDAY! Isn't that amazing!

I've been looking at long exposures and 'how to' videos on YouTube (in between How to Train Your Dog videos) and thought the laser lights wands looked fun. The 20 for £1 'glow sticks' I bought the other day are useless. You'd need about 100 all glowing at once to have any effect.

So after another successful swimming session - arm bands on today - I came home and returned to my Christmas Card task fiddled about with the laser wand.

I have made a discovery. I have a dark room. I can set up and take light painting shots with relative ease in the flat. We have a box room, with no outside window. It's amazing where a few hours go...

And so today we have a bit of an experiment. Maybe should have had more light at the front on the apple in this one, but I went for the silhouette. And I darkened the background down by accident, so now I know how to do that!

And by posting this, it means that I can go into town this afternoon to meet up with ex-colleagues without my camera bag and tripod. So that will be nice, for a change. I'm sure my fellow bus commuters at least will appreciate this.

Oh, but what if there's a bit of snow...

What if there's an amazing sunset...

What if I'm in the right place when the cobalt blue skies start...

What if the Winter Wonderland Highland Village looks particularly gorgeous tonight...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.