Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I blame George Osborne

Yes! All you doubters- of which I was the biggest (that doesn't sound grammatical).

I went swimming at the crack of dawn this morning. No electric blanket went on. I was there about 8.30, but it was quite busy. So much for my theory on Wednesday mornings.

I am pleased to report that I did 20 lengths of front crawl.

Well, I say 20 lengths, but in reality I rarely reached the end in a oner.

And I say front crawl, but I usually had to resort to side stroke for the last third each time. Or my favourite - skulling on my back.

I know what's wrong. I don't take a deep enough breath each time, so after half a length I just have to stop and gasp. Must remedy this. But at times, my kicking was as it was supposed to be.

And I only had one coughing fit. It's embarrassing being the only adult in swimming baths to have part of the pool go up one's nose.

Oh, it is delicious coming home, having done it. A glow is about my person, and I feel I have earned some sort of treat during the day. Like a big bag of Maltesers at the pictures. Which, let's face it, I would have had even if I hadn't gone swimming.

I went to the midday movies (horrors! - the price has gone up to £2.50! I blame George Osborne) - The Sightseers. Very dark. But very funny in parts. In fact, I guffawed about 5 minutes in to the film at the leading man's reaction to a litter lout! Although his reaction to someone who asked him to pick up his dog's poo was rather uncalled for (which is in the trailer). I would have thought he'd've been happy to do that. It was the way he was asked.

Then I went to an art exhibition. Fortunately there was nothing that took my fancy. I was to text JR immediately if there was. Phew! Saved a fair few £s there. Besides, we have no room for more artworks. I had hoped the artist who did our huge 'Old Town' was there - I wanted to thank her, and tell her how much pleasure it gave us. She had some paintings hung, but wasn't going to be there in person.

When I came out of the exhibition, it was that lovely deep dark blue sky. It only lasts for half an hour or so. I didn't have time to get to any vantage point, but I liked all the lights in St Andrews Square. The lights going by are from a bus.

On the way home I stopped to take one of the Winter Wonderland Highland Village I see it's called. I saw my bus come round the corner and stop down the road. I ran (I use the term loosely).

One advantage of a not fantastically frequent bus service is that there are always dozens of folk waiting to get on, so you know you have a bit of time to get there. But look out for traffic and taxis doing U-turns. I even had time to put my tripod back in, lest I stab someone.

So that's all good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.