Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy day

Bike

First of all, thanks to everyone who popped in and left kind words and presents on my 2,500th blip - which snuck up on me!

Several workouts today! We're now in possession of 48 nets of 8” logs! Yay! But what an effort it was. Angus the firewood chap had rung on Monday, as promised, and Friday was mentioned, but I hadn’t heard definitely, so assumed it wasn’t happening.

But after the bike session, while chopping a banana on to my Weetabix, anticipating a leisurely breakfast, an email came in. Angus had been unable to reach me - my phone kept going to voicemail. But the logs were on their way...

Panic stations! They all had to be stacked on the pallet on the pavement. 750kg of 'em - .75 of a ton (tonne?). But we managed. JR wandered home from the gym to find Archie and I sitting on the bench with the logs from the back shed piled up. NOT what she wanted after a double gym session and pulling a muscle, but she set to with renewed vigour, and we'd just finished stacking them on the pallet, had a cuppa, and the firewood arrived. So we had to unload the 48 nets of short logs, then load the long logs into the Ute, then stack the short logs back into the two sheds. Our neighbour happened by and stopped to help us. He suggested we pass the nets along a line instead of bumping into each other. This was a brilliant idea ('That's why I'm a manager', he smirked) and we were soon done. I was stuffed. And my arms are longer, I’m sure.

Jordan came in the afternoon for Archie - I'd forgotten this different arrangement. But when he'd gone, and I’d recovered slightly, I lay on the sofa and listened to a podcast about a Cold Case murder in Australia which has inspired a new enquiry by the police. Very interesting. (The Teacher's Pet). JR, full of energy still, popped round with some flowers to welcome Molly Collie and her mum back to Edinburgh.

Jordan and his wife came back with Archie and had a cuppa. Archie lay sighing happily on Jordan's lap. Jordan is very envious of my new reciprocating saw, but I’ll lend it to him (in fact, probably give it to him, because he collects more pallets than I do) once I've done the second pallet this week.

Thinking of my hospital visit yesterday, I’ve been reading up about 'knee instabilty'. At last I’ve got a name for it. And it CAN be fixed. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.