Photomuncher's Spot

By photomuncher

Cherry Picking

When we moved into our new (to us) house three years ago, we inherited an over-large cherry tree that had been allowed to escape to height.  It was a monster.  We are not tree killers, but on seeking professional advice we decided last autumn that it just had to go: it was beyond pruning.

I took it down myself with a hand saw, rope and ladder.  That was quite an effort and once it was down I removed the smaller branches and leaves then took some time off. Today I decided it was time to start removing the rest.

Friends with log burners are lined up to take the twisted stuff, but I am carefully salvaging lengths I can perhaps use in the future.  Cherry is a beautiful wood and I hope I will be able to create some nice pieces and artifacts from the remains. Perhaps this will help me feel less guilty about taking the tree down in the first place.  I hope so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.