Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Borders

Got to the beach early this morning as I felt the sunrise would be good. I was feeling very sad - very unusual for me - after the Brexit vote.

All the talk at work was around borders - 2 of my great colleagues are from Belfast - and the implications for our mutual co-operation and partnership on this small island. They are both young people in their 20s - dynamic, liberal and forward thinking . They don’t remember the border thing.

My paternal grandfather was from Northern Ireland and I have a deep love for the place. Beautiful landscapes, friendly people with a feisty spirit.

My blip today is of the old fashioned craft of embroidery. This was a gift to me on my last birthday by my american colleague who is married to an Irish guy and loves Ireland. Against a black background, this is beautifully crafted embroidery but with a tight circular border necessary to hold the cloth in place. The message is clear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.