Stairs (Day 1352)

I had a bit of a harumph after the dog walk this morning. I had a bit of time and was going to slosh a bit of paint around the new coving. My plans were dashed when I opened the paint tin to find i have got 10 litres of magnolia rather rhan white paint. I must have picked up the wrong one and feel like a bit of an idiot.
I got on with a other little job, then headed off to catch the ferry to Rousay to look at a job. The customer had told me there was a fair bit of work to do and that the house was quite large, but it is much bigger than I had expected. It was badly damaged by a fire in the mid 80s and, once re-roofed, changed hands a few times. The current owners are putting it together at last and have asked me to do the plumbing. I am quite excited about working in this huge place. It makes the renovations my beautiful wife and I have done in our house seem very small scale indeed. The majority of my work will be off the landing at the top of the picture, on the third floor. The kitchen is bigger than the ground floor of our house. They have a billiard room, complete with a covered up table.
After various discussions I caught the ferry back to the mainland, then zoomed off to Stromness to do a very small job. I suppose everything is going to seem very small from now on!
Extra added of the fire damaged side of a door from the servant's stairs to the landing at the top of the main pic. Despite the heavy charring on one side of the door, the other side is pristine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.