Stop. Making sense. (And the jobbing musician)

I'd say that I'm pretty good at switching from one thing to another, chopping and changing, quickly adapting. But after a full morning at school, I pulled over on the way to work, and decided to spend a few minutes gazing across the water while chewing on my even-better-than-expected sandwich from Booths. 

I wasn't trying to think about anything in particular or to work anything out; I just let my thoughts drift in much the way that they often do when I'm out running. There was stuff to process. And there came a point without any obvious, conscious conclusion when I gently came to, started the engine, and headed into the office. 

The highpoint of my day, though, involved Dan. As I think I have conveyed on here before, he is a very easygoing character. Laid back doesn't begin to cover it. "It's OK", "It'll be fine", "Cool", "I'll let you know"*: these are the type of phrases that regularly pass his lips. So it's very noticeable if he's even slightly tense or anxious about anything .

Recently, a chap he works with at the music shop who's a few years older than him secured a job down in Ipswich. This was all good except that he is supposed to be playing guitar for 'Jesus Christ Superstar' in a few months time at the Grand in Lancaster. When he explained to the Musical Director that he would no longer be able to do it he recommended Dan.

Dan told me about this, yesterday, and was clearly on edge (by his standards). This was most notable in that he kept talking to me about it. He even asked my advice about contacting the MD and what to say. 

This morning he came down for breakfast with a massive grin on his face; he got the gig!

*he won't

****
-10.5 kgs
Reading: 'This Naked Mind' by Annie Grace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.