Life In Wales

By KarenC

Are you game?

It's currently Game (Gibier) season in Belgium, and there are wonderful dishes on the menu such as Hare, Wild Boar and I'm sorry to say it - Deer. But don't worry, Santa's reindeer are safe! You might not like the sound of it, but you really should try it.

It was my friends' birthday yesterday, but she was working so we've had a girly lunch today. We met at Godiva for a glass or two of champagne, and then went to Brasserie du Couvent where we had our Christmas dinner on Thursday night.

On the 'specials' board, there was a choice of 'Rable de Lievre' (Hare) or 'Filet pur de Biche' (Deer). I chose the Filet de Biche, and it was cooked to perfection! It came with this baked apple filled with cranberries and a pear marinated in wine - it was absolutely delicious!

We've had a lovely afternoon, and now I'm packing ready for my flight to England tomorrow morning. My daughter's 27 weeks pregnant and in hopsital so I can't wait to give be there and give her a big hug!

At the same time I'm having a blip meet with Jo8lens who's a nurse at the same hospital - It's a small world and Blip is such an amazing community isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.