Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Green Woodpecker

Another shot through my wonky glass. I have a family of four Green Woodpeckers, Picus viridis, that come in to feed in the fields around the house. The largest of the three species in Britain they have a very selective diet of ants, ants and more ants.

As the fields around me are used exclusively for hay or grazing it gives the meadow ants the possibility to thrive and an ideal environment for these beautiful birds. Green Woodpeckers are perfectly camouflaged in this length of grass. Although I see where they land, I still have difficulty finding them if I move my eyes away from them for a moment. They use one of the field posts from time to time, but it is too distant to photograph. Maybe they will come closer some day. As they only eat ants, it's impossible to lure them into the garden.

Now time to go and cook a chicken. My friend, like the woodpeckers, has a very restricted diet but I can always top her up with vegetables. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.