Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Stoke Meadows

I needed some things from the supermarket so, once again, finished up along the canal bank. This time I made a diversion and went into see what they have been doing to a nature reserve that runs parallel to the canal. I had heard there was a pond and picnic tables and automatically feared the worst. What I found was this lake which is a bird reserve and a single table at the end. This view is barely a third of the expanse of water. I met one other person walking his dog and a couple of workmen who are creating the most inspiring raised walkways over the marshes. It really is a delightful place and teaming with wildlife. I'm looking forward to exploring the reserve in the spring.

I noticed a couple of little birds that were flitting around and feeding from little floating platforms of vegetation. Again, no long lens so no photograph, but when I got home I tried to get some more information about this initiative and read that it was known as an overwintering place for Water Pipits. I may be wrong but the description closely resembles the birds I saw. The note to myself is that, I must not go shopping without a long lens or at least put the bins in the car.

A friend is coming to stay for the weekend. I know she's not confident driving in bad conditions so do hope the roads will stay clear of ice for her journey. The ground crunched under my feet this morning despite the rain falling on my head. The roads were lethal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.