The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Still No Wiser

Dear O'H dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

The Prince, The Eldest Mini Princess (still on study leave) and I were went to see The Favourite this afternoon which we all though was good apart from the ending which had felt unconcluded. The three female leads are all brilliant, especially Olivia Coleman. I loved the scene where Sarah pens several versions of a letter to Anne. You wouldn’t want to accidentally post the wrong one!

The Mini Princesses had been busy baking yesterday and when The Youngest Mini Princess came home from school, we had raspberry and lemon birthday cake (and a vegan cookie for YMP) which was deeeeilicious. Murphy even joined in with the singing!

My dinner venue choice was Mother India. The food there is so nice. I think we may even have converted YMP despite her tongue being “on fire.”

I have had a lovely day. Thank you both for the fab presents. I have awesome friends. You are so brilliantly thoughtful.

C

PS. On the same day as the tiny pants admonishment, EMP, Mary Doll and I were on our way to the Hermitage in the car when Mary Doll asked if I had seen The Favourite. A couple of her friends had gone and hadn’t found it to their liking.

“Ten minutes Angie lasted before she walked out. The language. DISGUSTING.”

I assured Mary Doll that I was highly unlikely to be offended.

“Even by the C-word?” she asked, clearly thinking that she had won this argument.

(You can stop laughing now)

“There are also scenes with two women,” she added.

“And?”

“I’m not really sure what women do. You know,” as she lowered her voice to a whisper, “sexually.”

It is these special mother/daughter moments when I start to wonder if I am in some higher power’s version of candid camera.

As you can imagine. Mary Doll didn’t give up easily. I explained that I did not particularly want to have this type of conversation with my mother. ESPECIALLY WITH MY 15 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE BACK OF THE CAR.

“Why are you even interested?” I asked. “I’m pretty sure there aren’t any lesbians sitting wondering what straight couples in their seventies get up to.”

“Maybe I’ll add it to my bucket list,” she retorted.

I swear, I’m not going to be able to tell if she gets dementia!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.