caitielou

By caitielou

Ski de Randonée

As promised, I have for you a photo from our trip today. We started at La Charmette, a little town facing the resort Valmorel, and hiked up to a refuge called Chalet des Bachals. Refuges in France are for the most part free to use, have mattresses, and always stocked with wood by the Forest Service. We lit a fire in the fire place and hung up our sweaty clothes to dry and ate lunch in the cabin. It was during this period that the lenses on my ski goggles melted because they were too close to the fire. I'm pretty mad about it; I've been carrying on a 9 year long love affair with these goggles but all good things must come to an end I suppose. So, after our two hour ascent and long lunch break, we had a half an hour descent through uncut, sparkly powder. When I stuck my ski pole in the snow, it disappeared into the snow and never touched bottom. Glorious, I tell you. In this photo you can see a tiny bit where Max cut in front of me to film us skiing, but this is really what it looked like the whole way down. Mother and Nancy, Max is making you each a video of our trip today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.