Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Gladhouse Reservoir

Not as cold as last weekend, but the mild weather has passed for a bit. Quite breezy, so I decide to do the same route as I did last weekend. I head out through Bush to Penicuik. Quite breezy, so very slow. The climb up Pomathorn is a tad faster than last week.

Then I follow the Top Gear road to the Gladhouse turn off, then the wee road on the north side of Gladhouse Reservoir, where the photos were taken. No ice on the road, so I head past Outerston, to Middleton, then through Halkerston to Castleton.

As with last week, I follow Nation Cycle Route 1 through Carrington, Bonnyrigg, on to the cycle path to Eskbank. On the way, the sun comes out, again. I follow Melville Rd to Gilmerton Rd back in to Edinburgh. The route home from Gilmerton is along Captain's Rd and Frogston Rd. As I climb, in to the wind, I manage to overtake another cyclist. Quite difficult. Nice and sunny by the time I get home.

The whole route can be seen at Relive here.

After lunch, my partner and I head to Newington. Again there's nothing really in the shops to buy, not even in the one open in Forrest Rd. So its down to Tollcross, one more charity shop, then afternoon coffee.

Nice to have a 3 day weekend, but work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.