Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Bridges from Swanston

A day off on the first day of the week. I had hoped to go for a bike ride, however it is very icy in places, so the planned bike ride doesn't go ahead.. It is quite bright though, so I walk up through Swanston village on to the path to Caerketton Craigs. Higher up the path is pure ice, so I walk along the edge until I am above the trees. From here I can see more of the bridge. The deck, 55m above sea level, of the new Queensferry Crossing can be seen. However a rain shower is passing over Fife, and the Ochil Hills are hidden. Walk home for lunch.

In the afternoon, the ice hasn't cleared, so I go for a walk over Easter Craiglockhart Hill. Still icy in places. The clouds have cleared and the views of the bridges is set against the Ochil Hills. Unfortunately, this hill is not as high as the Pentlands, so you see less of the bridges. From here, I walk down to Brunsfield for afternoon coffee. In the shadows, vegetation still has frost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.