lisamiriam

By LmiriamC

This magazine came in the mail - from the Nature Conservancy. Even though we had a sunny day here today, it's still very cold. I really do miss California, especially in January and February. I used to do a lot of hiking in the hills near my home in those months. It's easy to forget the 8 months of hot and extremely dry weather that arrives in May which was one of the things that made it possible to move away.

Just feeling nostalgic today, especially having enjoyed a few weeks of sun in the desert. 

I didn't see the male hummingbird all day today. I am a bit worried about him. The female gets more time at the feeder (which I had to defrost again this morning) but I do miss the ruby-throated male. I hope he is ok. Should start warming up tomorrow.

Remember this song by the Mamas and the Papas?
All the leaves are brown (all the leaves are brown)
And the sky is grey (and the sky is grey)
I've been for a walk (I've been for a walk)
On a winter's day (on a winter's day)
If I didn't tell her (if I didn't tell her)
I could leave today (I could leave today)

California dreamin' (California dreamin')
On such a winter's day (California dreamin')
On such a winter's day (California dreamin')
On such a winter's day

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.