Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

LIGHT

They're not Christmas lights, they're winter lights, as far as I'm concerned, so they shine from November thro' February in our home. 

The Prof had his scan today.  The scanning department has been upgraded since I was here five years ago and now has a very pleasant waiting room.  A nurse appeared with a jug of water and I thanked her profusely for it then realised she was actually offering it to patients who needed it as part of the procedure.  I got so comfortable in there I almost fell asleep over my book.

Each step in this process feels like a minor triumph, followed by a wee bit of impatience (mine, not the Prof's) 

Oh good! We've got an appointment for blood tests!
Oh good, that's the blood tests done! But what about the scan?
Oh, good!  We've got a date for the scan!
Oh good!  That's the scan done! But what about the results?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.