Sailing away (Day 1385)

After a fine wander up the hill with the woofers this morning, I headed through to Stromness to deal with a tap which wouldn't turn on. Once it was fixed, I made my way along to the house re-furb where John and Ricky were already hard at work stripping out a concrete floor. 
I spent a while excavating another bit of floor in order to find where the water main comes into the building. After a bit of digging I found the lead pipe, which will need to be stripped out once the necessary permissions for digging up the street have been obtained. Whilst in the mood for a bit of digging, I broke out some badly laid concrete floor to make a route for the new water main.
After a meeting with the architect I gave Ricky and John a hand to strip out the entire floor and floor joists of another room, removing the last of the old heating pipes at the same time.
We stopped for a coffee and watched the ferry leaving Stromness on a mirror smooth sea.
Back at home, and without the company of my beautiful wife I spent a while in the garage sorting out the last of my scrap pile. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.