JoppaStrand

By JoppaStrand

Don't put all your pigs in one basket

Our final long day here has gone very well and all the training has been successfully completed. My colleague and I are now in the VIP Lounge at Bogata's Eldorado airport waiting to board the 2355 Dreamliner home to the UK. 

The drive to the airport through the rush hour traffic was as crazy as any I have seen in large metropoli around the world. How we escaped being hit, or taking out intrepid cyclists and  desperate street vendors I will never know.

These ceramic pigs was piled up beside a busy road. An errant driver would have demolished the whole lot in one go. I took this picture from the taxi as we sped by. Later we passed a trailer of fresh eggs at the roadside that were in  severe danger of becoming the biggest omelette in Colombia!

I am really sorry to be leaving Colombia. It is an amazing country, although, so far I have only seen the Andes and Bogata. I would love to return here one day.

T was called to do her Jury service today but was not selected and therefore released from this round of civic duty. 

Today, my late colleague and friend was cremated at Mortonhall. I am still in disbelief that he is suddenly no longer with us and very sorry that I was unable to attend  his funeral in person. A weblink has been set up to enable me, and others in his far flung family  to watch the service from here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.