Rubbing down (Day 1402)

I had a bit of a later start this morning after getting some paperwork out of the way. I made my way to Stromness to deal with a problem with a hot water cylinder, a shower and a basin, all in the same house. Stripping the shower valve down and giving the gubbins inside it a bit of a clean and grease up seemed to sort the problem. The basin needed a new waste fitted to it and I dealt with a slight blockage in the waste pipe at the same time. The problem with the hot water cylinder was an odd one. It is heated by a couple of immersion elements, one of which runs on "off peak" electricity. The other immersion is there to allow the customer to get hot water if the cylinder has cooled down. The boost would work for a short time, then a safety cut out shut it down. In frustration I spoke to the manufacturer who suggested swapping two temperature probes around. I did that and the fault was miraculously cured. The probes were fitted the wrong way around at the factory.
I stopped in to see Mum and Dad on the way home. Back at home, and after lunch I went out into the shed for the first time in a long time to get on with a bit of rubbing down of the mouldings from one of the doors I took off ages ago. There is a lot to do before the mouldings are ready to re-fit, but hopefully it will get done by the end of the weekend. Then I can strip them off the other side of the door and repeat the process. My beautiful wife is going to join in the fun when she is home from work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.