SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

At the feet of giants

Great End
It was a bit of a surprise to draw the curtains to see heavy snow falling this morning but it disappeared quickly and I took the van, as arranged, to see if it fits into Castle Garage. It does ... hooray. I’m glad to have relieved myself of my costly trek and winter arrangements ...
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2425042864451882896
The two of us (I’m never sure whether she takes me or vice versa) headed for Seathwaite. I walked up Grains Gill almost as far as Great End and then headed back down. I wasn’t really kitted out for the conditions and felt pretty duffed over from the week so just meandered up to the feet of the giant, pondering language and all the other things I don’t understand. The gulf of my ignorance gets ever deeper and wider with age. It was far enough and lovely to be in the heart of things, and there was tea and cake to be had in the van after fixing the gas last weekend. I’d wondered about going to the Words by the Water but was bushed by then... Keswick was full of lots of literary looking folk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.