Surprising sunshine

Two or three years ago, via FaceBook*, I was reacquainted with my best friend from school in Hong Kong, a chap called David Combes. During my last year there, he was the lead in the school production of Oliver. (This would prove to be an excellent bit of casting whereas I was, amongst other incidental roles, cast quite bizarrely as an acrobat.)

By the time we met up again, David had become a professional singer and a voice coach. (In fact, he coached Rami Malek for the recent Queen biopic.) I've been to see him perform with Capital Voices in Manchester three times previously and last night they were performing with a big band outfit called Spice Fusion at the Royal Northern College of Music, so Dan and I went along.

Dean had warned us on Saturday of an approaching storm, which promised to be quite severe, but Dan and I decided to go anyway. We left home early in case the weather was bad but it was fine and we had time for dinner an excellent trashy meal at a diner just along from the Deaf Institute.

The show itself was excellent and I was delighted by how much Dan enjoyed it. It would have been nice to hang around afterwards and chat to David (we saw him briefly beforehand) but Dan had school today and I was still a little worried about the weather. 

But, actually, it was fine all the way home and we interspersed our chat about the concert with affectionate jokes about Dan's lack of reliability as a weatherman, which I felt a little bad about, this morning, when I read all the reports about the storm and saw pictures people had posted on Twitter. 

And that made it all the more surprising to come down to a sunny kitchen.

*I don't regret leaving Facebook at all but getting back in touch with David certainly made being on there worthwhile.

****
-11.8 kgs
Reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.