Hampton Cellar

I need to be in London all day tomorrow, so I came down this afternoon and thought I'd make use of the evening to catch up with a couple of old friends and their kids (one off whom is my Goddaughter). 

Keith and I rendezvous'd on Platform 17 at Waterloo station to take the train down to Hampton. Keith had thoughtfully brought along a couple of beers, as well as some early birthday presents for me, and we sipped those while we caught up on, amongst other things, his 'Song Sommelier' project. 

On the way from the station to his house, we stopped off at Hampton Cellar, so I could buy some wine for the adults and chocolate for the kids. Thirty years ago, this was an Oddbins, the off licence chain for whom I worked during the holidays in various stores all over south London, and I did at least one stint here in Hampton.

Supplies purchased, we proceeded on to the house for what turned out to be a lovely evening, which I enjoyed so much that I could hardly bear to leave and had to run all the way back to the station to catch my train!

****
-12.1 kgs
Reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.