From Southwark Bridge

There are a few places I like to stay in London. My favourites are mostly up around Euston Station but if I want to be south of the river, then the LSE has some rooms that it rents out at Bankside, just behind the Tate Modern. They're reasonably priced, simple, and functional but also clean and have good showers, so if you're just looking for somewhere to rest your head, what could be better?*

This morning, I needed to get to a seminar in Moorgate, so I set off around eight and walked up, crossing the Thames on Southward Bridge. For a couple of years between 2002 and 2004, I used to walk from Waterloo to Upper Thames Street where I was working, and I'd usually cross at Southwark, although sometimes at Blackfriars or on the then relatively new Millennium Bridge. 

Do you see that yellow panelling in the photo? Just behind the righthand end is the office I worked in. It was a good place to work and, as long as it wasn't raining too hard, I enjoyed the walk back and forth between there and the station every day.

I took a sentimental look along Upper Thames Street as I walked north, arriving twenty minutes later at the little café on the corner of Paul Street and Bonhill Street, where I'd allowed myself forty-five minutes for a leisurely breakfast. Fresh coffee and scrambled eggs on toast: a perfect start to the day.

*I'm not being paid to write this although I would accept payment :-)

****
No scales
Reading: 'Jog On' by Bella Mackie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.