WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Warming up the Radio

I found the cable for the old Bush wireless today so I'm listening to a play on Radio 4.
The crackles and the slight buzz in the background soften the sound and remind me of sitting round the wireless as a child for 'Listen with Mother', 'Friday Night is Music Night' and 'The Billy Cotton Band Show'. I like the fact that there are knobs to turn to switch it on and tune in and also that it doesn't come on immediately - it has to warm up and the sound fades in.
I bought the wireless on Gumtree a few years ago and it is one of my favourite things. It is made of Bakelite - the first plastic made from synthetic components. It is looking a bit dull and could do with a bit of a polish. Do you know what is best for that? HP sauce! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.