Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Plan C!

Well, the two invalids are still not well. JR didn't move all day yesterday, and while declaring that she feels 'a bit better' has not moved today either. So we're on to Plan C - lunch next weekend. And I've got quite a lot of food to eat up. No worries there.

Watched The Killing last night right to the end - I couldn't wait till later in the week to find out what happened. There's bound to be something in the media that would have let the cat out of the bag. Suffice to say, I'm stunned. I'll miss her. And her jumpers. But Borgen is coming back in the New Year.

I popped out for a while, it being such a beautiful day. I did not pop up to the pool, though. I didn't want to stay out too long, in case the invalid needed something. So I went back to the loch from yesterday, this time armed with some brown bread. There's a notice at the pond saying that brown is not harmful to them, but white bread is.

And so I was able to lure them very near. Mind you, they couldn't go too far away with the ice. I sat down in the wet grass. I knelt down in the wet grass. Soggy jeans. Soggy coat. I used my camera's tricky swively viewfinder to put it down low and still be able to see. But I'll have to check the instruction manual, as it won't then shoot when you want it to, but whirs and whizzes for a while and then shoots, long after you'd composed the shot. So it was very much chance what you end up with.

I couldn't decide between a colour one or this one. This was over-exposed, so lost detail on the swan's body, so I tried to compensate by desaturating, not wholly successfully. But I liked the composition with the added flapping gulls (which of course, was purely accidental, lol). I don't do many B&W shots, so thought this would be a change for you all. Note the gulls standing in the water!

Right. I'm off to eat my way through a few things. Poor JR. Off school tomorrow, methinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.