Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Slight Hiccup Day Four

I was filling in my menu choices for tomorrow, and was rather stuck, not really fancying any of them. I texted JR to see what she'd fancy:
Cauliflower cheese
Minced beef
Turkey salad
Savoury cheese sandwich

She said that I might not be there for lunch...

And then the young doc came and said the Royal could take me as a day patient on Monday! And I can go home tomorrow, if I’m OK, which I will be.

I'm SO glad I’m not really ill and not attached to things - I can move around, shower, toilet etc. The other three ladies can’t. And sometimes they have to wait ages when they buzz for help. Seems to be no rush to help, but it could be an emergency. I've been quite useful, eg the lunch person just plonked the tray down on the side table and wandered off. The table was far too high for the young lady attached to the flagon of red liquid, but I helped her into the chair and got her comfortable. It's just people Not Thinking. It doesn’t take much to just make patients' lives a wee bit more comfortable. I'd be a hopeless nurse, though - I’d be bawling all day.

So I will be home in time for the fun part of the renovations - all expected to be finished by Friday! Whoopee!

Today's lunch, which was surprisingly tasty quite nice - spicy tomato soup, chicken fricassée, Eve's Pudding. Oh, and ice cream, which is surprisingly not very nice.

Extra: I don’t remember ticking all these boxes, but I did enjoy my tea!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.