Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Home!

Well, as promised by the doctor, I got released from hospital quite early in the day - he did the discharge papers last night, and the evening nurse did the pills (and what a huge swag of them I have now!) so that all was in order today. Last time I had to sit and wait for hours for all the documentation, dressed and ready for off.

And yes, it’s nice to be home, though the workmen gave me a more enthusiastic welcome than Archie did. Kitchen should be finished tomorrow. The bathroom has all the fittings in, but awaits the painter and the electrician. It's looking absolutely gorgeous. I was very excited to use our new flush toilet for the first time.

When all the lads had gone, JR took Archie to the Links. I set to and did a bit of light sawing with my reciprocating saw. Our pulley is now in a different place, so as not to obscure the view of the beautiful (expensive) new extractor fan. 40cm had to be sawn off each pole. I also hung it up - fits perfectly.

I was quite tearful when I left my wee pals in the ward this morning - they're all in a pretty bad way. Who's going to look after them? Perhaps there's a not-very-ill person in my bed now.

Archie is admiring the new wee flowers for outside the new kitchen window.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.